Jump to content

Custom Search

Welcome to the Ford Edge Forum


Sign In  Log in with Facebook

Create Account
Welcome to the Ford Edge Forum - the largest Ford Edge forum discussion board on the web. You must register to create new topics or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Benefits of membership:
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members
  • Create a photo album and post images. . .and more!
Click here to signup now
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

The official Ford authorized Ford Edge Registry is now live. More here!


Photo
- - - - -

Adding OEM Remote Start - Kits & Parts Explained (detailed) - 2011+


  • Please log in to reply
105 replies to this topic

#41 OFFLINE   candurin

candurin

    Ford Edge Enthusiast

  • Edge Member
  • 921 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:Southern NJ

Posted 21 February 2015 - 03:56 PM

And if you have an SE or an edge without automatic climate:

Manual climate control

For hot weather conditions:
The climate control system will be set to MAX A/C.
For cold weather conditions:
The climate control system will be set to provide maximum heating in (floor/defrost) mode.
Rear defrost/heated mirrors (if equipped) will be activated.
For moderate weather conditions:
The interior cabin will be heated, cooled or off, based upon the previous operating state (last ignition-on cycle).
Rear defrost/heated mirrors (if equipped) will be deactivated.







Lose this advertisement by becoming a member. Click here to create a free account.


#42 OFFLINE   CARR142

CARR142

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 144 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:CHERRY HILL, NEW JERSEY
  • Edge's Year:Decline

Posted 21 February 2015 - 05:15 PM

Something I noticed about auto climate on my vehicle;

Yesterday temp. 18 degrees, no auto climate activated,

Today 22 degrees, snow on windshield auto climate activated,

F/R defrost, heated seats & steering wheel all on.

The only time that all my features work is when there is snow on

the windshield.  



#43 OFFLINE   RustyEdge

RustyEdge

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 247 posts
  • Region:U.S. Northeast
  • Location:Northern NJ
  • Edge's Year:2011

Posted 22 February 2015 - 07:26 PM

Thanks I have an SEL w/ the auto climate.  It's hard to tell if what was on because as soon as I put the key in it reverts back to the previously used setting.  But I'm pretty sure that everything turned on (seats and all defrosters) which is awesome!  I've never had a remote start before so I'm having fun with it now.  Well worth the investment!

 

Thanks for all your help on here!

-Russ



#44 OFFLINE   testedone

testedone

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 24 posts
  • Region:U.S. Mississippi Valley
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Edge's Year:2013

Posted 08 June 2015 - 01:07 PM

Is this the right kit?

http://www.ebay.com/...eb2bed1&vxp=mtr



#45 OFFLINE   RustyEdge

RustyEdge

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 247 posts
  • Region:U.S. Northeast
  • Location:Northern NJ
  • Edge's Year:2011

Posted 08 June 2015 - 01:17 PM

That looks right, it's the same kit I used in my '11 but with two keys.  Here is a link to the one that I used, you'll see it's the same part number but only one key.  I only needed one remote start key and it's $155 cheaper than the one you sent a link for: 

 

http://www.ebay.com/...a38fcf2&vxp=mtr

 

If not for $70 more the same seller has a two key version:

 

http://www.ebay.com/...7aaf581&vxp=mtr

 

-Russ



#46 OFFLINE   testedone

testedone

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 24 posts
  • Region:U.S. Mississippi Valley
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Edge's Year:2013

Posted 08 June 2015 - 02:36 PM

I like $155.00 Cheaper :)

 

Those 2 links say they are not compatible with a 2013 Edge


Edited by testedone, 08 June 2015 - 02:37 PM.


#47 OFFLINE   testedone

testedone

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 24 posts
  • Region:U.S. Mississippi Valley
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Edge's Year:2013

Posted 08 June 2015 - 05:26 PM

Also do I need the hood sensor switch for this to work?



#48 OFFLINE   RustyEdge

RustyEdge

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 247 posts
  • Region:U.S. Northeast
  • Location:Northern NJ
  • Edge's Year:2011

Posted 08 June 2015 - 07:58 PM

Yea you will need the hood sensor, but check yours first as some cars already have the sensor.  Mine did not but yours is a few years newer so maybe you'll get luck.

 

If not, the cheapest I found it was $22 on ebay:

 

http://www.ebay.com/...=item2c91ebf0f3

 

Quick & free shipping too.

 

-Russ



#49 OFFLINE   testedone

testedone

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 24 posts
  • Region:U.S. Mississippi Valley
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Edge's Year:2013

Posted 08 June 2015 - 08:48 PM

Thanks, I checked it doesn't 



#50 OFFLINE   candurin

candurin

    Ford Edge Enthusiast

  • Edge Member
  • 921 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:Southern NJ

Posted 09 June 2015 - 05:27 PM

The hood switch is $16.50 at Levittown ford.

#51 OFFLINE   candurin

candurin

    Ford Edge Enthusiast

  • Edge Member
  • 921 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:Southern NJ

Posted 09 June 2015 - 05:30 PM

I like $155.00 Cheaper :)
 
Those 2 links say they are not compatible with a 2013 Edge


It's absolutely compatible. It's the exact kit you need (you can confirm the part number is identical to what I listed in the OP).

#52 OFFLINE   testedone

testedone

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 24 posts
  • Region:U.S. Mississippi Valley
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Edge's Year:2013

Posted 09 June 2015 - 07:26 PM

Thanks much.. just have to gather some fund to do this...



#53 OFFLINE   RustyEdge

RustyEdge

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 247 posts
  • Region:U.S. Northeast
  • Location:Northern NJ
  • Edge's Year:2011

Posted 09 June 2015 - 08:54 PM

The hood switch is $16.50 at Levittown ford.

 

Indeed it is, but atleast for me they quoted $10.22 for shipping brining the overall total to $26.72.  The one I found on ebay was $22 shipped so worked out better for me.  I'd defiantely price Levittown out just to see.

 

-Russ



#54 OFFLINE   candurin

candurin

    Ford Edge Enthusiast

  • Edge Member
  • 921 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:Southern NJ

Posted 10 June 2015 - 01:02 AM

Yeah, sorry Russ! I completely glossed over where you said free shipping...

#55 OFFLINE   testedone

testedone

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 24 posts
  • Region:U.S. Mississippi Valley
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Edge's Year:2013

Posted 16 June 2015 - 02:53 PM

Well the remote start module is on the way, I have installed the hood switch. I have called a few dealers and they all want $100.00 to activate the remote start option.



#56 OFFLINE   candurin

candurin

    Ford Edge Enthusiast

  • Edge Member
  • 921 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:Southern NJ

Posted 16 June 2015 - 04:41 PM

That stinks. I paid $49 (30 min labor). Can you call around to pepboys, Firestone, maaco, etc and see if they can do it? Most service centers do have fords IDS program.

#57 OFFLINE   RustyEdge

RustyEdge

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 247 posts
  • Region:U.S. Northeast
  • Location:Northern NJ
  • Edge's Year:2011

Posted 17 June 2015 - 06:47 AM

Yea I called many dealers and they were all the same, an hours labor.  I didn't try the pepboys or firestones of the world, figured I'd rather go with someone who has done this before.  

 

-Russ


Edited by RustyEdge, 17 June 2015 - 06:47 AM.


#58 OFFLINE   testedone

testedone

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 24 posts
  • Region:U.S. Mississippi Valley
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Edge's Year:2013

Posted 18 June 2015 - 03:09 PM

OK so got my parts today.. I am confused. I looked at the thread you spoke to get the panel off

 

http://www.fordedgef...-bb5z-19g364-c/

 

 

And they show anther module being installed with some little blue antenna also...

 

 

This is all I have in my kit.. Do I need another module??

 

http://www.ebay.com/...7aaf581&vxp=mtr



#59 OFFLINE   testedone

testedone

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 24 posts
  • Region:U.S. Mississippi Valley
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Edge's Year:2013

Posted 18 June 2015 - 07:58 PM

got my keys cut at Lowes..for free :)

 

Tried all the programming methods in this thread and the keys will not program.

 

 

I followed the procedure and they are able to start the car but I get a message that sates unable to program the keys. When I use the cylce 8 times and I press a button on the new remotes the horn sounds.. only thing I can think of is

 

this from the directions

 

NOTE: This procedure works only if the customer spare key programming is enabled. If customer spare key programming is disabled, refer to Key Programming — Enable/Disable Spare Key or Key Programming Using Diagnostic Equipment in the workshop



#60 OFFLINE   onyxbfly

onyxbfly

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 118 posts
  • Region:U.S. Northeast
  • Location:Somewhere between 1s and 0s
  • Edge's Year:2013

Posted 20 November 2015 - 02:58 PM

@Candurin,

I know this may be a longshot but I was wondering if you wouldnt mind extending a point of contact at your Ford dealer in Egg Harbour NJ.

I have the 5 button key fob part number DA8Z-19G364-A and I have the hood switch.  Is there anything else that I need?

I have been to 3 dealerships here in Philly and I keep getting the run around.  I was hoping that your dealership would extend the same price for installing the hood switch and programing the keys.

Thanks in advance.

 


Edited by onyxbfly, 20 November 2015 - 03:05 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users