Seat Filter for Cooled Seats - Design Changed!

Yesterday I purchased a replacement filter for the cooled seat & was surprised that it is no longer a filter! It is just a plastic piece with holes in it (assuming to protect from larger items to enter).

Searching online, I found it was indeed a Motorcraft/Ford design change, but couldn't find any technical reasons for it.
http://www.f150forum.com/f38/oem-seat-filters-missing-element-288462/

You can see the Old vs. New pictures attached.

Front:
post-24673-0-86371000-1432626946_thumb.jpg

Back:
post-24673-0-92788400-1432626967_thumb.jpg

Reading in several 2015 Ford Owners Manuals such as the 2015 Edge's, it seems they are "Lifetime Filters"!

Climate controlled seat air filter replacement
Your vehicle is equipped with lifetime air filters that are integrated with the seats. Regular maintenance or replacement is not needed.

Anyone know of an official reason for the change or inside info? I am no Expert, but looking at how older cars never had Cabin Air Filters & with their climate control systems working for many years without problems, I wouldn't expect any problems from these "replacements". Also, note that the replacement "part" is made out of sturdy plastic that is hard to bend, while the old filter was very flimsy & just had "nylon net" holding the filter element. Theoretically, I think the older design could have allowed damage to the fan (which is just behind the filter) if someone were to "stuff" something under the seat.