My 2012 Edge is killing batteries.

jash

Hi All,

I've been a long time lurker on this forum and appreciate the information and time you all have put into it. I've noticed several threads about battery problems. My problem seems to be a little different; but maybe that's because I'm a rookie when it comes to these kinds of things.

My Edge has 86000 miles on it and will be 4 years old in June.

My car has been killing batteries about every 4 months for the last year. I've had them tested by my mechanic and the Ford dealership and they're all telling me the batteries are now bad. A new battery just went in today.

Ford dealership did a drain test over night last night and report there are no drains. They tested the alternator and said that is fine. They tell me they have no idea what could be killing the battery. They put a new battery in and said if it goes bad in another 4-6 months it will take a lot of time and money to resolve the issue.

The only other symptom (besides the batteries crapping out) is when I turn the car off I get a message on my Sync screen that says:

System Off to Save Battery.

Please turn ingnition off or start engine.

This message stays on until I open the car door.

Has anyone seen anything like this?

Thanks!

-Jeff

Maybe the alternator is flaky and works sometimes but not all the time.

Do you drive a lot of short trips? That can do it if the battery doesn't have time to recharge after starting the vehicle.

I suggest getting a good tester (SOLAR is the one a few of us have) and keeping track of both the voltage and cranking amps over time.

I also got a C-Tek charger/reconditioner. Worst case you might need to use that once every 2-4 weeks.

Maybe the drain doesn't always show up. Body Control Module and the Shifter Park detect mechanism are common causes.

@akirby Thanks for the response.