Jump to content

Custom Search

Welcome to the Ford Edge Forum


Sign In  Log in with Facebook

Create Account
Welcome to the Ford Edge Forum - the largest Ford Edge forum discussion board on the web. You must register to create new topics or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Benefits of membership:
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members
  • Create a photo album and post images. . .and more!
Click here to signup now
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

The official Ford authorized Ford Edge Registry is now live. More here!


Photo
- - - - -

Add remote start 2015 Edge


  • Please log in to reply
59 replies to this topic

#41 OFFLINE   ian whu

ian whu

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 38 posts
  • Region:European Union
  • Location:London
  • Edge's Year:2017

Posted 01 February 2017 - 01:58 AM

Ordered your module yesterday, now got to wait till I get it to this side of the pond,

We can't have remote start over here, even if we could install all the factory gear, we couldn't get it activated by dealers etc.


So your module looks a good idea for us, when I fit the module and if it works on the UK/ euro Edge, I'll try disabling the honk with forscan.







Lose this advertisement by becoming a member. Click here to create a free account.


#42 OFFLINE   fullmotionht

fullmotionht

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 3 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:Tulsa, Oklahoma
  • Edge's Year:None

Posted 01 February 2017 - 10:23 PM

Sound good bro!  I'm hoping it work on the UK version!  Keep me posted!



#43 OFFLINE   kiki21

kiki21

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 15 posts
  • Region:Canada British Columbia
  • Location:Montreal
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 10 February 2017 - 08:04 AM

It sure does, I been in contact with him, ask him if it compatible with a UK model,

He said as long as I have the gateway module that the device plugs into,

I can't find it on mine,

but am sure forscan tells me I have a gateway module A

Hi, ian whu, how to use the forscan to check if there is gateway module there or not? I am alos interesting in this remote start kit. Thank you



#44 OFFLINE   kiki21

kiki21

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 15 posts
  • Region:Canada British Columbia
  • Location:Montreal
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 10 February 2017 - 08:23 AM

Eh are you sure? If you install the right remote start module and get the fob with remote starts button they should be able to program it. FORSCAN can enable remote start.

If you did it youself and bought and reprogrammed the remote yourself (also can be done in forscan). You could save yourself a pretty penny on labor.

I know with f150s aftermarket OEM remote start was as simple as that and if you didn't have forscan finding a dealer that would enable the option/key for you. It then worked as if you had it from factory

Another option to look into is if the 15s can get sync connect when they start selling those. My wife's 17 has it and her phone from any distance can start the car. It has a cellular connection in it. It's also got the ability to lock and unlock car and set up a remote start schedule(example: 4:30 pm M-F start my car for 5,10, or 15 minutes).

I know when it does come out 16s can add it

I know there is another option ford sells that is what your talking about that is an extra fob. But I think that's just a cheaper option

Do you mean the key fob can be programmed in forscan? Would you please to indicate how? I have I Ford Edge Titanium Eboost 245 made in Chia in 2016, I try to program a spare key fob but failed



#45 OFFLINE   kiki21

kiki21

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 15 posts
  • Region:Canada British Columbia
  • Location:Montreal
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 10 February 2017 - 08:39 AM

It sure does, I been in contact with him, ask him if it compatible with a UK model,

He said as long as I have the gateway module that the device plugs into,

I can't find it on mine,

but am sure forscan tells me I have a gateway module A

Is the GateWay Module listed in Forscan as following Picture?

Attached Files



#46 OFFLINE   akirby

akirby

    Ford Edge Legal Resident

  • Moderator
  • 9,670 posts

Posted 10 February 2017 - 09:04 AM

Forscan cannot program keys, only enable remote start (if I read that correctly).



#47 OFFLINE   ian whu

ian whu

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 38 posts
  • Region:European Union
  • Location:London
  • Edge's Year:2017

Posted 10 February 2017 - 09:09 AM

Is the GateWay Module listed in Forscan as following Picture?


On another screen it actually tells u the part number of your modules,

#48 OFFLINE   kiki21

kiki21

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 15 posts
  • Region:Canada British Columbia
  • Location:Montreal
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 10 February 2017 - 10:09 PM

On another screen it actually tells u the part number of your modules,

Yeah, Thank you very much for your assistant, I have got it, there is a gateway module A on my Edge also as following

Attached Files



#49 OFFLINE   ian whu

ian whu

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 38 posts
  • Region:European Union
  • Location:London
  • Edge's Year:2017

Posted 11 February 2017 - 05:17 AM

I've ordered the eBay module,

Is just landed in the UK, but I'm now away for a week vacation, so hopefully a neighbour takes it in for me,
Will then try it n3xt Monday

#50 OFFLINE   kiki21

kiki21

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 15 posts
  • Region:Canada British Columbia
  • Location:Montreal
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 11 February 2017 - 07:46 PM

I've ordered the eBay module,

Is just landed in the UK, but I'm now away for a week vacation, so hopefully a neighbour takes it in for me,
Will then try it n3xt Monday

 

Okay Ian whu, please keep me informed no matter it works or not, and if possible show me the position of the GWM(gateway module), it would be better with a picture.

Thanks



#51 OFFLINE   fullmotionht

fullmotionht

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 3 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:Tulsa, Oklahoma
  • Edge's Year:None

Posted 12 February 2017 - 01:21 AM

sent you a PM kiki21.   

 

are you in Canada and have an Edge that was made in China?  Your location shows Montreal.  



#52 OFFLINE   kiki21

kiki21

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 15 posts
  • Region:Canada British Columbia
  • Location:Montreal
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 12 February 2017 - 06:20 AM

sent you a PM kiki21.   

 

are you in Canada and have an Edge that was made in China?  Your location shows Montreal.  

No, I'am in China and have a Ford Edge made in China. The main reason I regisrated as in Canada Montreal just because there is no any option of China, and I had been in there.

BTW, would you please attached a photo of gateway module here, since I have checked on my car, there is gateway module A but when I remove the cover of the steering colum, I find the socket of this module (whose part number is G1GT-14F642-AA) is different from what I saw in the video. therefore I don't know it could work or not!



#53 OFFLINE   ian whu

ian whu

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 38 posts
  • Region:European Union
  • Location:London
  • Edge's Year:2017

Posted 12 February 2017 - 10:43 AM

Kiki, type that part number into Google, the connector u see if the obd, the connector for the leads are on the back of it,

#54 OFFLINE   ian whu

ian whu

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 38 posts
  • Region:European Union
  • Location:London
  • Edge's Year:2017

Posted 12 February 2017 - 10:45 AM

This is the back of it

Attached Files


Edited by ian whu, 12 February 2017 - 10:46 AM.


#55 OFFLINE   ian whu

ian whu

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 38 posts
  • Region:European Union
  • Location:London
  • Edge's Year:2017

Posted 12 February 2017 - 10:46 AM

And this is the front

Attached Files



#56 OFFLINE   kiki21

kiki21

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 15 posts
  • Region:Canada British Columbia
  • Location:Montreal
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 13 February 2017 - 03:48 AM

This is the back of it

 

Thanks a lot Ian Whu, if the back side picture is as clear as front side, it would be perfect!



#57 OFFLINE   12voltSolutions

12voltSolutions

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 1 posts
  • Region:Central America
  • Location:Tulsa, Oklahoma
  • Edge's Year:None

Posted 13 February 2017 - 11:03 PM

If yours looks like that Kiki21, then my kit will fit.  But the real question is.. will it work



#58 OFFLINE   kiki21

kiki21

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 15 posts
  • Region:Canada British Columbia
  • Location:Montreal
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 13 February 2017 - 11:28 PM

If yours looks like that Kiki21, then my kit will fit.  But the real question is.. will it work

 

I am waiting for Ian's come out, if his works, I think mine should also work, and the dealer promise to get refund if it does not work



#59 OFFLINE   ian whu

ian whu

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 38 posts
  • Region:European Union
  • Location:London
  • Edge's Year:2017

Posted 14 February 2017 - 03:14 AM

I will fit on Sunday, am on vaction at mo,

#60 OFFLINE   kiki21

kiki21

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 15 posts
  • Region:Canada British Columbia
  • Location:Montreal
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 14 February 2017 - 06:23 AM

I will fit on Sunday, am on vaction at mo,

 

Enjoy your vacation and Happy Valentine's day! :) Looking forward for your final verification.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users