Jump to content

Custom Search

Welcome to the Ford Edge Forum


Sign In  Log in with Facebook

Create Account
Welcome to the Ford Edge Forum - the largest Ford Edge forum discussion board on the web. You must register to create new topics or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Benefits of membership:
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members
  • Create a photo album and post images. . .and more!
Click here to signup now
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

The official Ford authorized Ford Edge Registry is now live. More here!


Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

SYNC 3 and CarPlay/Android Auto Information


  • Please log in to reply
506 replies to this topic

#501 OFFLINE   akirby

akirby

    Ford Edge Legal Resident

  • Moderator
  • 10,026 posts

Posted 06 July 2017 - 09:04 AM

Isn't 2.2 available now for user download and installation?









Lose this advertisement by becoming a member. Click here to create a free account.


#502 OFFLINE   Ray Heath Jr

Ray Heath Jr

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Platinum Member
  • 208 posts
  • Region:U.S. Southern Atlantic
  • Location:Richmond, VA
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 06 July 2017 - 09:31 AM

I have already updated the USB hub to get Apple Carplay on my Sync 2.0. I asked Ford Service on Twitter about updating to 2.2. They were going to charge me $150 to do the update because they have to take the trim off to get to a USB connection near the APIM. They told me that it possibly could freeze during the update which then they would need to change the APIM (covered under warranty) but the new APIM would not have V2.2. Then do the update again with the possibility of it not working. So it sounded like a version of Groundhog Day. So I am going to wait until a new software update is available from owner.ford.com for the Amazon Alexa functionality. I might try a different dealer to see what they have to say.

Yeah, connect to Wifi and try updating via the Unit.  If not, go to Owner.ford.com and download the 2.2 update.  It should be available to all Edges now.



#503 OFFLINE   jmr061

jmr061

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 275 posts
  • Region:U.S. Great Lakes
  • Location:Upper Midwest
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 06 July 2017 - 11:35 AM

2.2 is NOT available to end users for units that came with 2.0 from the factory.  Dealer upgrade only at this time per Ford.  Frankly it sounds like your dealer needs some training.  Updating to 2.2 does not require anything be taken apart.


Edited by jmr061, 06 July 2017 - 11:35 AM.

  • WWWPerfA_ZN0W and Ray Heath Jr like this

#504 OFFLINE   Ray Heath Jr

Ray Heath Jr

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Platinum Member
  • 208 posts
  • Region:U.S. Southern Atlantic
  • Location:Richmond, VA
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 06 July 2017 - 03:04 PM

2.2 is NOT available to end users for units that came with 2.0 from the factory.  Dealer upgrade only at this time per Ford.  Frankly it sounds like your dealer needs some training.  Updating to 2.2 does not require anything be taken apart.

Thanks Jason or the clarity...



#505 OFFLINE   lildisco

lildisco

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 248 posts
  • Region:U.S. Great Lakes
  • Location:Clevelandish
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 26 July 2017 - 06:44 PM

Finally!!! Waze is available for Android Auto!
https://www.google.c...-auto-hands-on/

Attached Files


Edited by lildisco, 26 July 2017 - 06:47 PM.

  • sylvainm, WWWPerfA_ZN0W, onyxbfly and 2 others like this

#506 OFFLINE   normkol

normkol

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 32 posts
  • Region:U.S. Northeast
  • Location:Staten Island, NY
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 31 July 2017 - 09:11 AM

Thanks for the heads up about Waze. I tried it the other day and it it is great!

 

We now have 3 options of GPS in the car, OEM Ford, Google Maps and now Waze.

 

No need to ever upgrade the Ford GPS, Google and Waze do that all the time.

 

As an example, a bridge, the Goethals bridge, that I take every day, has been replaced by a new one built right next to it. Ford GPS shows me driving out over the water, since it doesn't have the new bridge in its data base.

 

Waze correctly shows me on the new bridge.


  • WWWPerfA_ZN0W and onyxbfly like this

#507 OFFLINE   onyxbfly

onyxbfly

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 152 posts
  • Region:U.S. Northeast
  • Location:Somewhere between 1s and 0s
  • Edge's Year:2013

Posted 31 July 2017 - 10:29 AM

One of the main reason why I'm waiting/ stalking/ saving/ drooling over a 2016 sport opposed to a 2015. Waze is the $h!T


Edited by onyxbfly, 31 July 2017 - 10:36 AM.

  • lildisco likes this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users