DIY oil changes

Peter520

I'm new to the world of forced induction so I have some interest about oils in ecoboost engines. In no way am I doing the 10K mile oil change as noted in the manual, call me crazy. I am not even 100% comfortable with 5K miles on the motorcraft synthetic blend. So, I have been searching the subject for a few months now. Outside this forum, it seems Castrol Magnatec (now also full synthetic) is popular with ecoboost users and I'd like to bring it up here. Anyone have good or bad info on this oil?

Yes, there are many good synthetics out there and yes everyone has an opinion. I have some time to do my first DIY oil change which would be #2 for the vehicle itself. (first oil change was free at the dealer)

I do consider our use as severe since it's mostly used on short trips within the city.

• Like 1

Always recommend running full synthetic engine oil on Ecoboost engines, and as you stated, never out to the max. Note that the IOLM may state the need for a change at an interval well before that, depending on driving conditions/idling/WOT/etc. Ecoboosts are torture chambers for engine oil, which is why full synthetic will always be a better choice.

Instead, make it a regular habit to go no longer than 6 months/5,000 miles whichever comes first. You may not get the max oil useful life, but providing that margin of safety, to me, is well worth it.

You can peruse macbwt's engine oil analysis series on his YT channel, and while it may not include Magnatec (formerly Startup), it does provide some eyeopening data on the choices to be made:

documents

https://www.mactgarage.com/oil-analysis

videos

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJb7karK2nhyA7G1BW6xESg/search?query=oil+testing+series

I have not heard of anyone running Magnatec on an EB engine yet, at least with an oil analysis to back it up.

HTH.

• Like 2

Mobil1 with Motorcraft filter is what I've been using since around 3-4000 miles.