Jump to content

Custom Search

Welcome to the Ford Edge Forum


Sign In  Log in with Facebook

Create Account
Welcome to the Ford Edge Forum - the largest Ford Edge forum discussion board on the web. You must register to create new topics or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Benefits of membership:
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members
  • Create a photo album and post images. . .and more!
Click here to signup now
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

The official Ford authorized Ford Edge Registry is now live. More here!


Photo
- - - - -

Forcing a reboot


  • Please log in to reply
57 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   wilsons66604

wilsons66604

    Ford Edge Addict

  • Edge Member
  • 1,812 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:Kansas

Posted 29 September 2011 - 08:27 AM

Yesterday, my Touch system started acting up. FM was the only audio it would play. I was hoping it would do the automatic reboot but it didn't. After a couple of hours, I did the Master Reset from the menu. The only thing that did was to wipe out my data and settings. Finally, Touch rebooted and it began working again.

It sure would be nice to reboot at will without pulling the fuse.
I think I just got the answer from drpepper on the Sync forum. He said that the patch for the Sirius radio (see attached) included a reboot in it.
I'm going to give it a try later today.

Looking at the files in the patch, I see the script for what it runs....

[SYNCGen2_ALL]
Item1 = Sirius GCI Update Fix
Open1 = BT4T-14D546-GA.cab
Item2 = delayed Reboot
Open2 = DelayedReboot.cab
Options = AutoInstall, RenameLst


I wonder if I can edit this and just have it do the reboot without the Sirius update...

[SYNCGen2_ALL]
Item1 = delayed Reboot
Open1 = DelayedReboot.cab
Options = AutoInstall, RenameLst


Any thoughts?

EDIT:
see post below for the install

Edited by wilsons66604, 29 September 2011 - 12:36 PM.








Lose this advertisement by becoming a member. Click here to create a free account.


#2 OFFLINE   wlepse

wlepse

    Ford Edge Enthusiast

  • Edge Member
  • 1,252 posts
  • Location:NJ

Posted 29 September 2011 - 08:57 AM

The other option I am now looking more seriously at is to add a switch to the fuse and mount the switch in the cubby behind the center stack. I mentioned it in another thread and someone said they already did it. I figure you should be able to use one of those fuse taps to wire in the switch. Right now I think this might have to be my weekend project as 2.11 has made our MFT completely useless. We have had more locks, reboots and just blank screens in one week than we did in the first five weeks of ownership.

#3 OFFLINE   wilsons66604

wilsons66604

    Ford Edge Addict

  • Edge Member
  • 1,812 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:Kansas

Posted 29 September 2011 - 09:14 AM

I had considered the switch in the fuse panel but if this USB solution works....I'll use it instead

#4 OFFLINE   akirby

akirby

    Ford Edge Legal Resident

  • Moderator
  • 9,802 posts

Posted 29 September 2011 - 09:33 AM

The other option I am now looking more seriously at is to add a switch to the fuse and mount the switch in the cubby behind the center stack. I mentioned it in another thread and someone said they already did it. I figure you should be able to use one of those fuse taps to wire in the switch. Right now I think this might have to be my weekend project as 2.11 has made our MFT completely useless. We have had more locks, reboots and just blank screens in one week than we did in the first five weeks of ownership.


You can't use a fusetap unless you remove the sync fuse and put the fusetap on another circuit. Just find the right wire and put the switch in-line with the wire.

If you continue to have problems with 2.11 you may have a bad APIM.

#5 OFFLINE   wlepse

wlepse

    Ford Edge Enthusiast

  • Edge Member
  • 1,252 posts
  • Location:NJ

Posted 29 September 2011 - 10:14 AM

Fuse tap I have gives you two fuse slots....one for the original one for the new circuit. For this idea you would use the original then one of those fuses that has pigtails. These pigtails would be wired to a switch that you can open/close at will which would be the same as pulling the fuse.

As for the bad APIM module I guess anything is possible but most of my issues started with the upgrade, seems too coincidental to me. I wonder if Ford has some variability between parts that are causing many of these issues. Maybe there are some driver issues or something.

#6 OFFLINE   wilsons66604

wilsons66604

    Ford Edge Addict

  • Edge Member
  • 1,812 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:Kansas

Posted 29 September 2011 - 12:03 PM

Just in time. My Touch system went stupid again today.
I plugged in a USB stick with the DelayedReboot file on it. It installed in about 10 seconds. Turned off the car and waited 30 seconds. When I restarted, the system rebooted!
To make sure it wasn't a fluke, I did it again. This is will be a big help.
Here are the instructions included in the zip file...Enjoy! :happy feet:
UPDATE: I made a slight mod to the install so it would not rename the files. This will allow you to keep the USB stick in the car and use it over and over again without reloading it.



When the download is complete, unzip the patch to a flash drive.

[NOTE: Be sure to unzip the patch directly onto the flash drive, not into an existing folder.]

--INSTALLING THE REBOOT SOFTWARE IN YOUR VEHICLE:

1. Start your vehicle and turn on the audio system.
2. Insert your flash drive (containing the patch) into your vehicle's USB port.
3. The installation process will begin automatically, and should take about 10 seconds to complete. A dialog box will let you know when the patch has been successfully installed. When the installation is complete, remove your flash drive from the USB port.
4. Turn off your vehicle's ignition for at least 30 seconds so that the system can reboot.
5. After at least 30 seconds have passed, start your vehicle again. Your vehicle's screen may be black for up to a minute. Then the "Performing scheduled system maintenance" screen will appear, and will last for a few minutes.

Attached Files


Edited by wilsons66604, 29 September 2011 - 12:34 PM.

  • tpm419419 and hrab8126 like this

#7 OFFLINE   akirby

akirby

    Ford Edge Legal Resident

  • Moderator
  • 9,802 posts

Posted 29 September 2011 - 12:11 PM

Fuse tap I have gives you two fuse slots....one for the original one for the new circuit. For this idea you would use the original then one of those fuses that has pigtails. These pigtails would be wired to a switch that you can open/close at will which would be the same as pulling the fuse.


None of the pigtail fuses or add-a-circuit fuses actually interrupt the original circuit in the fuse itself - it just adds a new wire to the same circuit. You would need a fuse that isn't connected in the fuse itself but has 2 pigtail leads - one from each side of the fuse - and those you could wire together with a switch. But I can't find one like that. Otherwise the original fuse 29 circuit is still intact and won't be controlled by the switch.

It's not the same as pulling the fuse. If you don't understand I can try to draw a picture.

#8 OFFLINE   akirby

akirby

    Ford Edge Legal Resident

  • Moderator
  • 9,802 posts

Posted 29 September 2011 - 12:13 PM

I'll make this a sticky topic. Good job!

I wonder if you could force an immediate reboot by changing delayed to immediate or something similar.

#9 OFFLINE   akirby

akirby

    Ford Edge Legal Resident

  • Moderator
  • 9,802 posts

Posted 29 September 2011 - 12:18 PM

Assuming you have one of these:
Posted Image

You could make it work by removing the fuses and red wire. Then you solder a new wire onto each leg of part that fits in the fuse box.
Attach these 2 wires to the switch but you'd have to add a new fuse in-line somewhere to replace the one you lost.

#10 OFFLINE   stabbey

stabbey

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 2 posts
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 29 September 2011 - 12:35 PM

Hi,
I'm a new Ford Edge 2011 owner and found another way to reboot sync, The following video: will show you another way. I looked into the fuse pulling and it seemed rather risky and the video shows a much easier and simpler way. I hope this video helps you and others. One final thing, I didn't make this video and if the solution offered works for you, please thank the guy who discovered it.
P.S. When I did what the video suggested, it did wipe my navigation but not my stereo / sat radio preferences.

Edited by stabbey, 29 September 2011 - 05:16 PM.


#11 OFFLINE   wilsons66604

wilsons66604

    Ford Edge Addict

  • Edge Member
  • 1,812 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:Kansas

Posted 29 September 2011 - 01:10 PM

Hi,
I'm a new Ford Edge 2011 owner and found another way to reboot sync, The following video: will show you another way. I looked into the fuse pulling and it seemed rather risky and the video shows a much easier and simpler way. I hope this video helps you and others. One final thing, I didn't make this video and if the solution offered works for you, please thank the guy who discovered it.

Interesting. Pulling the power to the fuse box. Not that much different than pulling the fuse. I still have to get down on my hands and knees.
This USB reboot is MUCH easier. I can do it from the driver's seat.

#12 OFFLINE   choff1138

choff1138

    Ford Edge Enthusiast

  • Edge Member
  • 959 posts
  • Location:Alaska

Posted 29 September 2011 - 01:17 PM

Interesting. Pulling the power to the fuse box. Not that much different than pulling the fuse. I still have to get down on my hands and knees.
This USB reboot is MUCH easier. I can do it from the driver's seat.



It does at least save a person from having to figure out which fuse, or dropping it. Or dropping the wrench down into the pits of the engine area when you are trying to connect the battery back up. Not that I know about that personally or anything, um... yeah, so....

But I do like your fix Scott of the jump drive, since then you shouldn't have to fix all of your preferences and stuff again right?

#13 OFFLINE   wilsons66604

wilsons66604

    Ford Edge Addict

  • Edge Member
  • 1,812 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:Kansas

Posted 29 September 2011 - 01:27 PM

It does at least save a person from having to figure out which fuse, or dropping it. Or dropping the wrench down into the pits of the engine area when you are trying to connect the battery back up. Not that I know about that personally or anything, um... yeah, so....

But I do like your fix Scott of the jump drive, since then you shouldn't have to fix all of your preferences and stuff again right?

Right. The system retains all the settings. Similar to puling the fuse 29 or doing the "scheduled service" reboot.
The guy in the video did say he lost all his settings didn't he? That's a result of pulling the power for too many circuits (like pulling the battery cable).

#14 OFFLINE   wlepse

wlepse

    Ford Edge Enthusiast

  • Edge Member
  • 1,252 posts
  • Location:NJ

Posted 29 September 2011 - 01:39 PM

None of the pigtail fuses or add-a-circuit fuses actually interrupt the original circuit in the fuse itself - it just adds a new wire to the same circuit. You would need a fuse that isn't connected in the fuse itself but has 2 pigtail leads - one from each side of the fuse - and those you could wire together with a switch. But I can't find one like that. Otherwise the original fuse 29 circuit is still intact and won't be controlled by the switch.

It's not the same as pulling the fuse. If you don't understand I can try to draw a picture.

Not quite true...you need to find one that is for testing the circuit but yes the majority found in auto parts stores do as you say. The one I have/had is rather old and actually has pigtails and no fuseable link but the newer ones give you tabs to connect a meter to.

Back to Wilsons66604 finding...just wish you didn't have to restart the car. Would really like some fix that you can do while motoring down the highway. Or can you continue and let it do its thing and eventually it reboots is back to normal just that you are driving for a minute or so without the MFT functioning? Is there a requirement to shut off and restart?

#15 OFFLINE   wilsons66604

wilsons66604

    Ford Edge Addict

  • Edge Member
  • 1,812 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:Kansas

Posted 29 September 2011 - 02:00 PM

Not quite true...you need to find one that is for testing the circuit but yes the majority found in auto parts stores do as you say. The one I have/had is rather old and actually has pigtails and no fuseable link but the newer ones give you tabs to connect a meter to.

Back to Wilsons66604 finding...just wish you didn't have to restart the car. Would really like some fix that you can do while motoring down the highway. Or can you continue and let it do its thing and eventually it reboots is back to normal just that you are driving for a minute or so without the MFT functioning? Is there a requirement to shut off and restart?

I installed it while driving but nothing happens until you turn off the car and wait 30 seconds. (This DelayedReboot.cab was included in the Sirius patch.)
The next time Ford releases an update, I'll check to see if there is a ImmediateReboot.cab that we can use. The 2.11 Sync update rebooted several times w/o shutting the car off.

(does anyone have the 2.11 update still on your USB stick? If so, can I get a copy?)

Edited by wilsons66604, 29 September 2011 - 02:01 PM.


#16 OFFLINE   akirby

akirby

    Ford Edge Legal Resident

  • Moderator
  • 9,802 posts

Posted 29 September 2011 - 02:04 PM

Not quite true...you need to find one that is for testing the circuit but yes the majority found in auto parts stores do as you say. The one I have/had is rather old and actually has pigtails and no fuseable link but the newer ones give you tabs to connect a meter to.


Well I was going by what was available today but as long as you understand how it works you're fine. I wasn't sure.

#17 OFFLINE   wlepse

wlepse

    Ford Edge Enthusiast

  • Edge Member
  • 1,252 posts
  • Location:NJ

Posted 29 September 2011 - 02:26 PM

I installed it while driving but nothing happens until you turn off the car and wait 30 seconds. (This DelayedReboot.cab was included in the Sirius patch.)
The next time Ford releases an update, I'll check to see if there is a ImmediateReboot.cab that we can use. The 2.11 Sync update rebooted several times w/o shutting the car off.

(does anyone have the 2.11 update still on your USB stick? If so, can I get a copy?)

Damn...was hoping it was similar to the update like you mentioned. Unfortunately I deleted mine so I can't help you there. But onto what Akirby mentioned earlier...where is it defined what delayedreboot is? Maybe if that is modified then you can make it work however you want. That would be super slick and almost easy enough that I think I could get the wife to do it on her own.

#18 OFFLINE   wilsons66604

wilsons66604

    Ford Edge Addict

  • Edge Member
  • 1,812 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:Kansas

Posted 29 September 2011 - 04:39 PM

Damn...was hoping it was similar to the update like you mentioned. Unfortunately I deleted mine so I can't help you there. But onto what Akirby mentioned earlier...where is it defined what delayedreboot is? Maybe if that is modified then you can make it work however you want. That would be super slick and almost easy enough that I think I could get the wife to do it on her own.

It's a compiled CAB file that I can't modify.
It is simple to install. The system will reboot the next time you start the car.

#19 OFFLINE   richy

richy

    Ford Edge Enthusiast

  • Edge Member
  • 919 posts
  • Location:Windsor, Ont

Posted 29 September 2011 - 05:00 PM

Stabbey and Wilson: Excellent posts guys!! Thanks so much!

#20 OFFLINE   stabbey

stabbey

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 2 posts
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 29 September 2011 - 05:18 PM

Thanks Richy, I'm always happy to help where I can.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users