Invoice price

This may be more accurate than Edmunds since I think they have a "deal" (just like Truecar) as they get a certain dollar amount for cars sold through their service:

Ā 

https://www.carbuyingtips.com/car4.htm

Ā 

Scroll down until you find the: Fighting Chance package.

Ā 

Truecar and Edmunds "invoice" pricing isn't necessarily accurate as they generally don't list any of the special dealer incentives/holdbacks.

Ā 

In fact, you'll see that a lot of times, Truecar's "price" is actually well below the "invoice" price, mainly because of their "invoice" pricing not having all the discounts.

Ā 

Although in all honesty I have no knowledge about the Fighting Chance stuff yet. I'll be doing that around end of October and we'll see what it shows, but by then it'll be 2017 Ford Edge model year for me.

Ā 

Good luck!!! Hope you get a sweet deal!

That wasn't the question though. Dealer invoice is still dealer invoice. Of course it doesn't include holdback (typically 3%). Dealer incentives vary and are not generally published, although Edmunds does usually show them.

Ā 

You can get vehicles below dealer invoice (not counting normal rebates) but invoice to invoice + $500 is more typical depending on the vehicle and supply/demand. Plus the ever-popular "Documentation Fee" otherwise known as Additional Dealer Profit.

Also when looking at actual transaction prices you have to take into account the games they play with trade-ins. I can sell you the new vehicle for $1K below invoice if I give you $2K below wholesale for your trade-in. And vice versa. Very hard to get accurate prices when there is a trade-in.