Red X on GPS issue Resolved 2011 MKX

cfo20

So I have had the Red X over the GPS symbol on my 2011 MKX for some time now, where it stays on for about 8-12 minutes before the sat signal is recognized.  After a few resets and map updates, problem still existed.  After researching what it could be, I decided to take a chance on replacing the OEM antenna, which actually resolved the issue.   As such, I decided to share a step by step for this should anyone else need to do it.  Please note, I removed some parts which may have not required removal as I had to figure it out as I went along.  Also, I am not a certified mechanic by any means so you are preforming this procedure at your own risk.  I am recalling all the bolts/screws I removed, so please make sure by looking for any.  They were all pretty well exposed and not hidden.  If in doubt, remove it.

1.       Remove the leather covered curved trim pieces surrounding the climate control.  They are just clipped in and pop out easily.

2.       Remove the two 7 mm screws on each side under the trim pieces you just removed, then pry upwards all around the switch panel and screen surround to pull up all the clips.  When you get to the bottom, you must slide the panel upwards to clear the mounting tabs of the switch panel at the bottom.  Remove the wire harness at the bottom and then set the panel aside.

3.       Pull up on the center channel speaker grill and remove it.  It is also only held by clips.

4.       Remove the lower drivers side kick panel which has two 10 mm bolts and clips along the perimeter and top.