Shift to Park Message Resolved DIY 2011 MKX

cfo20

I fixed my shift to park issue (switch) on my 2011 MKX and figured I would share a brief step by step.  I am not a mechanic, so if you choose to do this, you are doing it at your own risk.  After replacing the entire switch/harness assembly, replacing (soldering in) a new $5 switch from mouser or similar (as noted in other forum posts) would have been easier and cheaper, so consider that method if you are comfortable soldering.  I also DID NOT remove the shifter assembly to do this while the switch replacement directions from Ford said to remove the shifter from the vehicle.

1.       Order correct part as noted in TSB 17-2219 (14 December 2017).  For the 2011 MKX, it was GT4Z-3F988-B.  Mine was $33 shipped or $55 at local Ford dealer.

2.       Study the directions that come with the part when it arrives.  They do help a lot, but again, you DO NOT need to remove the shifter from the vehicle.

3.       In the drivers seat, remove the two curved leather covered trim pieces that surround the climate control.  Just pull up on each as they are held by clips.

4.       Remove the two 7 mm bolts holding in the climate control panel, then remove that entire panel by pulling up as the sides and top are also held by clips.  Slide the panel up from behind the two tabs at the bottom where the bolts you just removed were at.  Once loose, remove the single wire harness at the bottom and set the climate control panel aside where it will not get damaged.

5.       Remove the four 7 mm bolts holding in the touchscreen and APIM unit.  Remove the harnesses from the back of the touchscreen/APIM and set it aside where it will not get damaged.