Tuner for the EDGE?

renaug007

SCT makes xcal3 for the Edge, I think its on there website and also I think steeda sells it for $399

I'm a little new to the aftermarket world so can someone explain to me how these tuners work? I don't understand why the auto manufacturers don't just tune them for more power and better mileage at the factory.

I'm a little new to the aftermarket world so can someone explain to me how these tuners work? I don't understand why the auto manufacturers don't just tune them for more power and better mileage at the factory.

I used to subscribe to a truck magazine. An article I read about engine mods stated that many of them do improve performance. However, they also make the engine work harder & will likely shorten its life.

• 2 weeks later...

I just put a tune in my Edge from Evolution Performance. It is the SCT Xcal and has 3 tunes in it. Pretty easy to install . It is a "plug and play" Presently I have the 93 performance tune and it does make a difference in power! If interested call Evolution Performance and ask for Fred. tell him Badgirl sent ya!

Evolution Performance

The tuner alters things like air/fuel ratio, transmission shift points, and can recalibrate your speedo to accommodate other-than-stock size wheels and tires amongst other things (check their website for a full list of options). By altering your a/f ratio, you can squeeze a lot more power out of your engine depending on the fuel octane level you are using. Most tuners (which are vehicle-model specific) come with 3 tunes, one for 87 octane, one for 89/91 octane and one for 93 octane. Basically the tuner allows the vehicles on-board computer to utilize the fuel in a way which provides more horsepower.