Whistling at idle = Vacuum leak?

briandye

Noticed when I got my Edge back on the road (09 Limited) in the carwash baby with it running, I heard a slight whistle noise. Didn't think much of it, but then noticed it again recently and it's bugging me.

After searching online, it seems to be a vacuum leak, which makes sense. I have no experience with the vacuum system on a vehicle, nor how to check it. I saw some videos and they said to have the engine running, and spray some kind of parts cleaner, or starting fluid around all the vacuum lines to narrow it down (the RPMs should surge a bit where the leak is).

I was just wondering if there are any common spots on the Edge where hoses or connectors might wear out to cause a leak? The only symptoms I have are in the mornings, my idle will drop a little lower than normal for a split second, then go right back to normal. Not a fast "surge" just a small dip and then back up.

It ONLY does it at idle, if I touch the gas pedal at all enough to raise the RPMs then it will stop.

I'll try that spray trick later on today and see if I can't track it down.

I have the same issue! I just didn't think much of it to post and it's never gotten worse. Now I am reading that vacuum leaks can affect acceleration and shifting, an issue I have been having since the purchase of my car just hasn't been bad enough for me to say something

Edited by mcali6301

• 2 weeks later...

Check Engine light came on yesterday evening and I brought it straight to the dealership.

Prior to this I was testing the brake booster by following some instructions online. The instructions were to, with the engine running, depress the brake, the sound of air should be heard but then go away, the rpm should raise slightly and go back down...Instead the sound of air continued and the rpm stayed slightly raised.