Jump to content

Custom Search

Welcome to the Ford Edge Forum


Sign In  Log in with Facebook

Create Account
Welcome to the Ford Edge Forum - the largest Ford Edge forum discussion board on the web. You must register to create new topics or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Benefits of membership:
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members
  • Create a photo album and post images. . .and more!
Click here to signup now
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

The official Ford authorized Ford Edge Registry is now live. More here!


Photo
- - - - -

Add remote start 2015 Edge


  • Please log in to reply
64 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ljdean200

ljdean200

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 1 posts
  • Region:U.S. Northeast
  • Location:PA
  • Edge's Year:2015

Posted 29 September 2016 - 01:43 PM

I just purchased a used 2015 Ford Edge Titanium with push button start. My question is other than purchasing the key fob that has the engine start function what if anything would need added to the car.









Lose this advertisement by becoming a member. Click here to create a free account.


#2 OFFLINE   Hermans

Hermans

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 122 posts
  • Region:U.S. Northeast
  • Location:Pennsylvania
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 29 September 2016 - 02:14 PM

You don't say what option package you have, but the Titanium with the 301A package comes with remote start. If not you can purchase a Ford unit and have a dealer install it. You then get the full warranty.



#3 OFFLINE   WingNut

WingNut

    Ford Edge Enthusiast

  • Edge Member
  • 826 posts
  • Region:U.S. Southern Atlantic
  • Location:Northern Virginia
  • Edge's Year:2015

Posted 29 September 2016 - 03:31 PM

FYI...after it leaves the factory you will not be able to use the FOB that comes with vehicles that already have Remote Start.  Any post-factory install of Remote Starts on the Edge will require a separate fob that goes on your keychain to control the remote start.



#4 OFFLINE   Tjm623

Tjm623

    Ford Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 359 posts
  • Region:U.S. Great Lakes
  • Location:Ohio
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 30 September 2016 - 10:54 AM

Eh are you sure? If you install the right remote start module and get the fob with remote starts button they should be able to program it. FORSCAN can enable remote start.

If you did it youself and bought and reprogrammed the remote yourself (also can be done in forscan). You could save yourself a pretty penny on labor.

I know with f150s aftermarket OEM remote start was as simple as that and if you didn't have forscan finding a dealer that would enable the option/key for you. It then worked as if you had it from factory

Another option to look into is if the 15s can get sync connect when they start selling those. My wife's 17 has it and her phone from any distance can start the car. It has a cellular connection in it. It's also got the ability to lock and unlock car and set up a remote start schedule(example: 4:30 pm M-F start my car for 5,10, or 15 minutes).

I know when it does come out 16s can add it

I know there is another option ford sells that is what your talking about that is an extra fob. But I think that's just a cheaper option

Edited by Tjm623, 30 September 2016 - 10:57 AM.

  • solodogg likes this

#5 OFFLINE   solodogg

solodogg

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 14 posts
  • Region:U.S. Southern Atlantic
  • Location:Orlando
  • Edge's Year:2015

Posted 03 October 2016 - 11:06 PM

Eh are you sure? If you install the right remote start module and get the fob with remote starts button they should be able to program it. FORSCAN can enable remote start.

 

 

Definitely can enable remote start with Forscan, i've done it with my 2015 SEL.  Remote start is now enabled, and options can be controlled via the IPC.  All I need to do is find a key, and see if it works without adding the antenna :)


  • WWWPerfA_ZN0W and Exploder82 like this

#6 OFFLINE   Tjm623

Tjm623

    Ford Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 359 posts
  • Region:U.S. Great Lakes
  • Location:Ohio
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 05 October 2016 - 06:03 AM

Probably going to need the remote start device, but yes I knew you can enable the remote start controls.

Like I said for the f150 it was a simple disconnect a cable braid behind glovebox, mount the device in the OEM spot, use pigtail provided to plug back into cable braid AND the device. And then use forscan or go to dealer to get what you already did enabled / program a new key.

#7 OFFLINE   solodogg

solodogg

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 14 posts
  • Region:U.S. Southern Atlantic
  • Location:Orlando
  • Edge's Year:2015

Posted 02 November 2016 - 05:25 PM

The Edge remote start ties into a module that splits off of the OBD2 port, and most components are already there.  I have seen reports on older Edges that the antenna was not included unless the vehicle had power liftgate, but I have not been able to confirm that is the case on the 2015+.  Even if it's not included, it's a cheap part, and plug & play.

 

I've been spending too much time exploring as-built mods on my Mustang lately, I need to get back to locating a 5-button IA keyfob, and see if I can make the remote start functional without any additional parts added.  

 

With that said, if there is anyone in CFL that's interested in this, or any other as-built mod, shoot me a PM.



#8 OFFLINE   Zman31

Zman31

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 24 posts
  • Region:U.S. Northeast
  • Location:New Jersey
  • Edge's Year:2015

Posted 03 November 2016 - 10:26 AM

Hey guys, I've posted about this also and reading through a lot of threads on this I think you may have answered my questions. My understanding is that on first generation Edge if you have the power lift gate and perimeter entry alarm all you need to do is get the bi-directional antenna and tap into the network through the tpms module located behind the left rear quarter interior panel, Get remotes with the start function (Carandtruckremotes.com) has them for about $90 ea. and then have dealer activate the fobs and remote start. I've been trying to confirm this on my 2015 from what I'm reading here am I correct in saying that i can do this on mine ?

#9 OFFLINE   solodogg

solodogg

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 14 posts
  • Region:U.S. Southern Atlantic
  • Location:Orlando
  • Edge's Year:2015

Posted 03 November 2016 - 07:55 PM

no need to have the dealer activate the fobs if you have 2 originals...you would be able to program a third and 4th yourself.  I'm almost positive everything is already included as far as the wiring and remote start goes, just needs the programming updated to enable remote start and IPC options and the fob programmed.  Worst case scenario would be adding the antenna, which on a 2015+ looks to be extremely simple.



#10 OFFLINE   solodogg

solodogg

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 14 posts
  • Region:U.S. Southern Atlantic
  • Location:Orlando
  • Edge's Year:2015

Posted 08 November 2016 - 02:36 AM

So I decided to dig in and see if I could find out whether I had this antenna installed or not in my 2015 SEL today. Attached are some pictures of my findings, or lack there of anyway.

I expected to find an antenna between the drivers door and dash, but saw nothing. Also looked behind the dash for a module, but once again saw nothing. I did find a grey plug with a grey/red wire that was tied to another harness and capped off, maybe this is the connector I'm looking for somehow.

So, if anyone wants to pitch in and help, pop the little sunglass holder out and look behind it for this grey/red wire, and see if it's plugged into anything. The sunglass bin is held in with 4 clips that can be popped out with a small 90 degree pick or a flat head screwdriver.

I'm hoping somehow that the module is located elsewhere, and that the antenna connects to this empty plug, but maybe that's wishful thinking.

Attached Files



#11 OFFLINE   jmr061

jmr061

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 254 posts
  • Region:U.S. Great Lakes
  • Location:Upper Midwest
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 09 November 2016 - 10:21 PM

In order to add remote start visit accessories.ford.com and look up your vehicle and it will show what you need.

 

2015/16 Edges that come from the factory have fobs that operate on 902mhz.  Vehicles that do not have fobs that operate on 315mhz.  


  • WWWPerfA_ZN0W likes this

#12 OFFLINE   solodogg

solodogg

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 14 posts
  • Region:U.S. Southern Atlantic
  • Location:Orlando
  • Edge's Year:2015

Posted 10 November 2016 - 02:39 AM

Already did that,, it shows an antenna and that's it. Doesn't show what the antenna connects to, nor which vehicles already have it in place.

https://accessories....aerial-asy.html

Edited by solodogg, 10 November 2016 - 02:40 AM.


#13 OFFLINE   candurin

candurin

    Ford Edge Enthusiast

  • Edge Member
  • 934 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:Southern NJ

Posted 10 November 2016 - 07:07 AM

You should see a "T" harness coming off your OBD port. Then you should have the VSS (vehicle security sensor) box attached to the second OBD port.

The remote starter aerial antenna connects to the TPMS sensor in the rear LH quarter panel.

At least that's how it did in the 2013 & 2014 edge.

Edited by candurin, 10 November 2016 - 07:13 AM.

  • WWWPerfA_ZN0W likes this

#14 OFFLINE   jmr061

jmr061

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 254 posts
  • Region:U.S. Great Lakes
  • Location:Upper Midwest
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 10 November 2016 - 11:21 AM

Already did that,, it shows an antenna and that's it. Doesn't show what the antenna connects to, nor which vehicles already have it in place.

https://accessories....aerial-asy.html

That is for the old body style 11-14.  The reason it likely shows 15 is the 11-14 platform was still used for some countries in 15.

 

North America the 15-16 are the same and 11-14 are the same.

 

In the Edge the gateway module that the post-factory OEM kit plugs into is way up under the dash to the upper right steering column.  Kinda a pain to get to.  It doesn't plug or "T" into the obd connector.


Edited by jmr061, 10 November 2016 - 11:23 AM.

  • WWWPerfA_ZN0W likes this

#15 OFFLINE   Zman31

Zman31

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 24 posts
  • Region:U.S. Northeast
  • Location:New Jersey
  • Edge's Year:2015

Posted 12 November 2016 - 01:16 PM

Okay let me see if I follow, on my 2015 Edge Titanium, I should be able to activate the remote start with Forscan if the module is there, then get two five button intelligent access fobs, program them to the vehicle, and add the antenna, correct ? And if the module isn't there, if I install the post factory Ford remote start module and antenna, will it work with the OEM five button intelligent access fobs ?

#16 OFFLINE   jmr061

jmr061

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 254 posts
  • Region:U.S. Great Lakes
  • Location:Upper Midwest
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 12 November 2016 - 04:09 PM

No...you have to purchase the post factory kits...visit accessories.ford.com



#17 OFFLINE   solodogg

solodogg

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 14 posts
  • Region:U.S. Southern Atlantic
  • Location:Orlando
  • Edge's Year:2015

Posted 12 November 2016 - 10:24 PM

the ford accessories site only shows an antenna, and a cellular remote start addition.  So what is this other accessory that would be required?  If the Ford accessories site shows it can be done with an antenna, and activating it in ForScan gives the options that are not greyed out (which would be normal if the module doesn't exist), what else could possibly be required?

 

I'm more curious where the OEM antenna is located on a 2015+, and might have to go rent one for a day to find out.  



#18 OFFLINE   jmr061

jmr061

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 254 posts
  • Region:U.S. Great Lakes
  • Location:Upper Midwest
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 12 November 2016 - 10:27 PM

https://accessories....mote-start.html

 

The antenna in the middle is not for North American 2015 Edge vehicles as I mentioned above.  Do you see the first two?



#19 OFFLINE   Zman31

Zman31

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 24 posts
  • Region:U.S. Northeast
  • Location:New Jersey
  • Edge's Year:2015

Posted 19 November 2016 - 06:57 PM

No...you have to purchase the post factory kits...visit accessories.ford.com

Okay, still unclear on this, if I am able to activate the remote start parameters with Forscan or IDS then all I need to do is add the antenna, and get IA fobs with remote start and program them to the vehicle and I should be good to go.

If I'm not able to activate the parameters I need to install the VSS/Remote start kit, and that would require having to carry a second remote, correct ?

I would think if you can activate the parameters that would mean that the remote start is a built in feature like many other Ford vehicles, that all it requires is the addition of the antenna and fobs.

I've been researching this for a while, seen plenty of install programming videos on YouTube, read pages of the Factory Service manuals on the procedure, I even tried to contact Ford Technical Support who just refers me to the dealer, that is almost not a option as the selling dealer installed an aftermarket 3x's lock remote start (not what I wanted) long story, but basically got ripped off on the remote start because I didn't cross my "t's" or dotted my "i's". My local dealer doesn't want to get involved with removing the module because they don't want to be liable if something goes wrong. I just want to find out if it is possible to have the remote start with the original style fobs before I invest any more time and money into this, not to mention the aggravation and frustration.

Edited by Zman31, 21 November 2016 - 06:41 AM.


#20 OFFLINE   dVIAN

dVIAN

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 4 posts
  • Region:U.S. Pacific Coast
  • Location:Oregon
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 11 December 2016 - 03:40 PM

Hello All, I have been a viewer of this forum for quite some time and really value the community's knowledge. I created an account to follow up on this post.

 

I have read a few of the topics regarding adding remote start to the Edge. I wanted to follow up on Zman31's question to see if anyone can point me in the direction of this actually being possible or not on the 2015/16 model...

 

If possible, which parts would be needed to be purchased/installed? I know there is an antenna on the accessories page.. assuming that is required for the frequency of the 5 button key. Does it also require the VSS module/Perimeter Plus?

 

Ultimate question still is if there a way to use a factory 5 button IA key with remote start if the Edge did not come with remote start installed from factory?

 

 

My model is:

 

2016 Edge Titanium 3.5L AWD

Equipment Group 300A






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users