Hi from Tennessee

Carol

Hi I'm Carol from Tennessee. I just bought a 2013 Ford Edge Limited about a month ago and decided I would join this forum to share and learn.

I don't know anything about forums so I am new to this but my husband belongs to many Mustang forums and really enjoys conversing with the other members.

• 2 weeks later...
  • 3 weeks later...

Hello carol!

wwwperfa-zn0w....will you tell me more about the "polish/seal" you speak of? Lol. I have never had a car that i cared enough to keep pristine like our 2012 limited edge (therefore don't know a lot about preserving exterior). I assume a body shop performs? What should I expect to pay for said services? Just a ballpark so I don't completely walk in unaware. We talking couple hundred or five?

Thanks for anyone's advice!

Jack

Hi Jack! There are a couple of owner writeups (Edgieguy and edge1217 come to mind) on this forum, and Richy has extensive knowledge on the subject of detailing. I will refer primarily to paint, but there is paint, trim, wheels & tires, and interior to consider when doing a full detail.

How much work/money? All depends on the current condition of the paint. Scratches, swirls, bugs, dirt, infinite variety of possible issues. Could be anywhere from $300 on up.

Polishing is basically sanding the paint like you would wood. Sealing is what they call "Last Stage Protection" or LSP, and allows the product to take the beating rather than the paint. It can be done with a wax or a sealant, and depending on the product selected, may last from 2 weeks to 2 years. Going back to wood references, think of polyurethane as a sealant.

Usually, the steps will be: