Coolant in spark plug tube

M.j.r

Hello gentleman. Was hoping to inquire and hopefully find some help diagnosing my 2013 edge limited. Had a recent missfire start under load on the highway. Was finally able to get it to throw a engine light on. Cylinder 2 missfire. Of course it's the back center cylinder. Now I have removed the upper intake and upon removing the ignition coil the entire spark plug was submerged in coolant. (Yes it's confirmed as coolant). My question is this. To my knowledge nothing in that area has coolant in it aside from the cylinder head. Has anyone else heard of this issue? The coolant reservoir is only slightly down, nothing alarming. I've since cleaning the tube and will be next doing a pressure test on the cooling system. I fear a fracture in the cylinder head but we will see what we find. If anyone has heard of this or knows something that I'm missing please let me know. For the record I'm a licensed tech by trade but have minimal experience with this particular engine. Thanks

Matt

Hi Matt! Highly unusual to hear of this type issue with the 3.5L (I assume this is what you have since you mentioned the back center cylinder) engine. More typically, there is block porosity (rare), head gasket failure (rare), and/or water pump failure (a bit more frequent). But as with all these crammed engine bays, Bank 1 suffers from heat suffocation, so problems are more likely to show up on that side.

How much mileage do you have on your 2013/engine? Are you monitoring CHT and ECT temps off the OBD port? A lot of idling/traffic, or mostly highway driving...?