Canadian buying from US

TyVan

• 2 weeks later...

Hi all. :D I am certainly no expert on Canadian/U.S. tax and importation laws, so this is a question for anyone who truly knows the answer (not guesses or speculation): If a Canadian resident was to purchase a vehicle in the U.S., don't they have to pay import duties and taxes (i.e. VAT) when they register it in Canada that would eat up any savings they may have realized from a U.S purchase? Unless a Canadian citizen also has a legal U.S. address, the vehicle would still need to be Canadian registered?

I would think that it would not be that easy to "beat the system".

Again, I am not an expert in this field, so am just wondering.

Good luck. :beerchug:

Edited by bbf2530

Hi all. :D I am certainly no expert on Canadian/U.S. tax and importation laws, so this is a question for anyone who truly knows the answer (not guesses or speculation): If a Canadian resident was to purchase a vehicle in the U.S., don't they have to pay import duties and taxes (i.e. VAT) when they register it in Canada that would eat up any savings they may have realized from a U.S purchase? Unless a Canadian citizen also has a legal U.S. address, the vehicle would still need to be Canadian registered?

I would think that it would not be that easy to "beat the system".

Again, I am not an expert in this field, so am just wondering.

Good luck. :beerchug:

Here are a few links to answer your questions, but pay very close attention to the fact that you may not have warranty in Canada.

http://www.westherr.com/How_to_Import_Or_E...da_From_USA.cfm

http://www.canada.com/vancouversun/news/bu...188&k=88155

http://www.tc.gc.ca/mediaroom/releases/nat/2007/07-h245e.htm

Ford warranty is for North America so it is covered in Canada.

You pay PST & GST plus about $200 to import/register in Canada. No duty since it is made in Canada.