Sync/NAV updates gone haywire

Recently notified of both a sync and (free) NAV update for our Edge ST.  I've done these before, no big deal.  Installed the NAV update (completed successfully or so it said) then the Sync update (same completed successfully).  Did the open door, lock, close door wait, restart engine dance.  Now if I try voice commands she doesn't say anything like it used to before (please say a command), just a bong then if I try a command it says not available, complete your NAV update.  Tried re-doing the nav update even though the version shown is the updated one, goes through process, successful then same result.  Was hoping to avoid a factory reset since a) I don't know it'll fix the issue and b) will have to set everything back up again.  I see this is a somewhat common issue across their models but no fix other than a supposed blank map file which you then reapply the updates and hope for the best.  Anyone know a proper fix for this issue?  

I am new to the Edge, so since it is a 2019 or newer (ST), I think they all get updated to 3.4 of SYNC.

What year, what version of SYNC (2, 3), if SYNC 3 do you have 3.0, 3.3, or 3.4 or newer (the darker blue UI)?

My 2019 had 3.3 from the factory, never updated. It was the light blue UI similar to the 3.0 version in my 2017 Escape. I downloaded 3.4 and installed it, and it has done a few smaller updates via WiFi (WiFi didn't work to get version 3.4).

Since I don't use the built in NAV, I didn't check for map updates, they are not free (I don't have a subscription for them).

Edited by dabangsta

For anyone who runs into this issue in the future, here's what corrected it for me.

After the error I tried the power cycle/reset things to no avail.

I then reran the sync (not NAV) update to lay it over top of itself followed by power cycle and still no luck.