Alarm and Remote start

If you didnt get the factory just go aftermarket. they dovoid warranties (however a dealer may tell you they do to get the business) magnusson-moss act protects the consumer for this.The added units at a dealership are usually code alarm with a re-badged remote to say ford. the range on these units suck. If this isnt te case then they will send it out and just sell it with a warranty to match the factory.

Is it a remote start and Alarm?

The reason why I rather go Ford is cause every aftermarket installer I have seen has hacked up the harness under the dash guessing what wire works for what and then taping them back up. At Ford they will know what wire does what and less extra splicing will be required.

Does anybody know the part number for the Alarm and Remote start kit?

I do love Code-Alarm, have had them in several vehicles and they work great.

I was a professional installer 10 years at varrious shops (been out of the biz for about 2 years now). The unit your dealer will put in will be spliced also. MOst shops have access to the same manuals as the dealer all data is a paid for service that has the ford shop manuals in it. There are many other wire color/function programs put out by the alarm companies also. The other thing is about 50-75% of dealers out there contract with the ma-pa shops to do their work its not beneficial for a dealer since its not a steady job for an installer. A normal mechanic at the dealer does not do this type of work.

To each is their own, but if you want to put in a remote start that only works from about 100' away that is way over priced go for it.

On a side note i would stay away from most big box stores and focus on smaller shops.

whats longer? most aftermarket come with a lifetime, ford usually only gives a 3year/36mo. to me a lifetime is more than that..