2007 - 2011 tail light swap, now have fast signal!?

hdmapp

So first off I'm new to te forum! But it looks like people get positive results, anyway my problem!

I bought the 2011 tail lights for my 07 edge - before I continue you must know it is NOT set up with the amber signal. Wanted to set it up with two reverse lights in the center and dual signals a the side, so at night just the sides would flash. Anyway I set it up and it worked great! Both left and right sides were flashing regularly for about 2 days - after that It flashes fast 2-3 times then regular 2 times then fast, seems to do it in a pattern. Anyway the weird thing about it is once I turn Off the vehicle the flash goes to normal :s it's only when it's running! Any ideas? Ill post a few picture of how it looks and possibly a video of I can lol thanks for any response!

yes it is drawing more power because its changed from a single rear bulb to two rear bulbs now, but the pattern in flashing is whats weird and the fact that when the vehicle is off it flashes fine? but i will try the new relay and see how it works - any idea on pricing?

• 2 weeks later...

are they LED lights?

the "fast flash" from the manual means there is no load on the relay or the turn signal circuit which would indicate a burnt out bulb. so if you were driving around your turn signals blinked faster most likely it would be an out bulb. this also happens when you toss in an LED light into the equation. LEDs dont have a filiment and the circuit cant see the load so it blinks faster. not sure if this is your issue or not. on a site called autolumination.com they sell a relay that fixes this issue!

on another note

if you turn on your hazards most likely it will blink at the normal rate indicating a good relay.

steve

• Thanks 1

sounds like a dumb question but is your bulb out?