Tire repair

tpm419419

Is it me or are the prices to repair a tire through the roof? I had a simple nail in the tire and was charged 28.99 for the repair. It cost something like 32.00 by the time tax was added. I was told because it is a large tire they charge more. I think I have had tractor trailer tires repaired cheaper then that :wacko:

I am in NY by the way

Truck tires are not even plugged anymore. At least not by reputable companies. I am a tractor trailer driver and every flat is broken down on site and patched from the inside.

Yesterday I had to have 2 flats repaired, one on my Edge and one on my wife's Scion Xb. The Xb was 19.99 and the Edge with 18" rims was 29.99

Same size patch and the machine didn't work any harder getting the tire off the rim

And that is how they get you

Happy Thanksgiving everyone

Edited by tpm419419

We have Discount Tire Stores all over the place here. They repair for free to bring in customers. They broke down the last tire I had repaired there, plugged the tire, nipped the plug flush on the inside and patched from the inside. I could see a shop charging for 30 minutes labor on a tire repair if they have to break it down. Thirty bucks sounds about right.

Why does it always seem that the more expensive the tire, the more crap you pick-up from the road. I have 35X12.50 inch tires on my truck, to the tune of $350.00 a piece and I have picked up more miscellaneous road debris than any other vehicle I can remember. Every time I hear a "Ticking" noise from a tire I sweat to the tune of $700.00. They are directional and must be replaced in pairs, at least.

We have Discount Tire Stores all over the place here. They repair for free to bring in customers. They broke down the last tire I had repaired there, plugged the tire, nipped the plug flush on the inside and patched from the inside. I could see a shop charging for 30 minutes labor on a tire repair if they have to break it down. Thirty bucks sounds about right.