Polish without a machine?

Ok so I have read a large portion of the posts here and want to say thanks to all of you have that offered up your knowledge. I have learned so much just reading your input. I do have a question though. I do not have machine buffer, orbital anything. I want to polish my edge after a proper wash and clay treatment to rid it of some swirl marks and some water spots embedded into the hood. Is there a polish that I can do this with that I can do by hand? What products do you recommend? I have no experience with a machine buffer and seriously don't want to screw up the paint. I realize that it could be some extensive work by hand too that might require allot of pressure to get anything close to the same results. Would it just be better to take it to a detailer and let them do it?

Ok so I have read a large portion of the posts here and want to say thanks to all of you have that offered up your knowledge. I have learned so much just reading your input. I do have a question though. I do not have machine buffer, orbital anything. I want to polish my edge after a proper wash and clay treatment to rid it of some swirl marks and some water spots embedded into the hood. Is there a polish that I can do this with that I can do by hand? What products do you recommend? I have no experience with a machine buffer and seriously don't want to screw up the paint. I realize that it could be some extensive work by hand too that might require allot of pressure to get anything close to the same results. Would it just be better to take it to a detailer and let them do it?

You can apply most any polish by hand but it's a lot of work. I've had good luck with Meguiars but I'm sure others have different recommendations.

p135887z.jpg

If your paint really has defects such has swirling you need to use a machine and polish that will correct the paint. I wouldn't recommend using "elbow grease" on such a large car.