2012 AWD Fuel Efficiency

Billy Bob

I'm thinking about buying a 2012 AWD but need a clarification... Is the AWD full time AWD or part time? Anyone care to comment on their MPGs? Anyone have any info on how the FWD is in the snow? I've been driving Jeeps for many years and although I dearly love them, the high costs of gas is forcing me to consider alternatives. I'd appreciate any info. Thanks.

I'd imagine the mileage for the 2012 is the same as 2011 since nothing major has changed. The AWD is considered full-time (since there's no way to disengage it) but technically it doesn't route power to the rear wheels unless it senses wheel slippage, so most of the time by far it's a FWD vehicle dragging around a few hundred extra pounds of AWD equipment. However, if you need the AWD it's an awesome system on the Edge. It was very sure-footed last winter in all of the snow we got, I was very impressed.

As far as mileage, I get about 19 city / 22 mixed / 24-25 hwy with my AWD. You can check what others are getting in the "real world" on Fuelly: http://www.fuelly.com/car/ford/edge

Edit: here's my Fuelly badge:

57378.png

Edited by mrdave

I'd imagine the mileage for the 2012 is the same as 2011 since nothing major has changed. The AWD is considered full-time (since there's no way to disengage it) but technically it doesn't route power to the rear wheels unless it senses wheel slippage, so most of the time by far it's a FWD vehicle dragging around a few hundred extra pounds of AWD equipment. However, if you need the AWD it's an awesome system on the Edge. It was very sure-footed last winter in all of the snow we got, I was very impressed.

As far as mileage, I get about 19 city / 22 mixed / 24-25 hwy with my AWD. You can check what others are getting in the "real world" on Fuelly: http://www.fuelly.com/car/ford/edge

Edit: here's my Fuelly badge:

57378.png

So then, would you still get 24 - 25 if traveling on the hwy in the snow?