MyFord Touch is turning into a real piece of crap

rogersmj

I'm a tech guy. I *want* to love MyFord Touch, it has so much potential and so many things it's *trying* to do right. But it is buggy as hell and there's virtually no support from Ford!

The latest and most frustrating bug just started happening 2 days ago: it refuses to accept voice commands to make calls. I'll say "call So and So" like I always have, and it says "No phone is connected" even though the LCD screen shows it is connected to my iPhone, and reports signal strength and battery accurately. Also, it will receive calls through MyFord Touch just fine...if I get a call, it comes up on the screen and everything's normal. It just thinks the phone isn't connected when I try to place calls. I have deleted and repaired my phone to no avail. Mind you this is after it worked fine for a month.

It's all the more frustrating because we can't get anywhere with Ford. The dealer basically says, "Huh, it shouldn't be doing that...it's a new system, we don't have a lot of experience with it yet." And despite offering owner forums on SyncMyRide, Ford itself is a black hole of non-responsiveness.

Here's all the other bugs we've experienced:

* Sometimes doesn’t register touches (have to press hard -- too hard)

* Hideously slow in processing touchscreen presses

* When a call comes in, sometimes the previous caller will show up on caller ID until after the current call is answered -- makes caller ID worthless

* Sometimes radio preset buttons become blank

* Directions malfunction (took us in the complete wrong direction and then quit)

* Says things like “bear right on Cincinatti” when it should actually be “bear right on I-74”

* Sometimes connects to the wrong (non-favorite) phone when more than one phone is present

* Sometimes takes a long long time (15+ minutes) to connect to a phone

* Bluetooth audio streaming won't work at all. Shows iPhone in source list, won't actually play anything when selected.