AC stuck on hot

Sean Mullins

One day a couple of weeks ago my edge blew hot air out of all vents when I turned on the AC. The next day it worked fine and has been fine for 2 weeks, this weekend it did it again, and has continued to not work since. I checked this site for help yesterday but Im a beginner at mechanics. Any advice would help thanks.

2008 Edge sel

Manual climate control.

First thing is check the AC by starting your Edge and turning on the AC then watch and listen for the compressor to start. If the compressor does not cycle or start then you may be low or have no freon due to a leak. Start there and continue on. Since the AC requires some special equipment you may need to take it to a mechanic for service.

You might want to try blowing out the AC drain tube (it's a 2 piece, pull back the carpeting next to driverside console to see the joint), and running some AC foaming cleaner up the upper half of the tube to clean the evaporator coils. Hopefully that's all it needs. Next step would be, like mac said, to get refrigerant levels checked. Hopefully there's no damaged components/leaks, and it just needs a fill.

Can you switch to heat? If not, my thinking runs along the line of a failed control.

Might be if the AC compressor is kicking on then it most likely has sufficient freon or it would not cycle on. OR vent controller has failed and is stuck

It blows hot air air no matter what the temp knob is on. My mechanic friend said it sounded like the ETCM module to him. I found a used one on ebay for 16 bucks I may try that before I take to the shop. I tried locating the air blend actuators to see if they are working but did not know where to find them.

Today when I got home I finally found 2 actuators, at least I think that's what they are.The one behind the glove box only moves when I change from Max Ac to regular ac. It does not move when I turn the temp knob.

The one on the left under my steering column does not move either.