Basic Info

2012 Ford Edge SEL FWD

2.0L Ecoboost

116xxx Miles

Tow Package

3rd owner

245/50/R20

Spark notes on the story:

Purchased early January 2017 With the known DOOR AJAR issue.

Took to dealer for this repair and asked for any recommended service and I requested a transmission fluid change as well.

Dealer advised not to change Transmission fluid as "it may actually cause more problems"

but advised on a spark plug change.

According to dealer they did an inspection on everything else (fluids,Belts,timing, Filters ETC) and it all appeared to be fine. But I'm no mechanic so how the hell do I know.

Replaced the plugs (for an outrageous cost might I add seeing as the 2.0 only needs 4 at 3$ a plug) and the door ajar issue running me about $475.

Now the engine has started to stutter a bit but only at low RPM. Almost feels to me like the engine may be misfiring on one cylinder but not all of the time and only when I am stepping on the gas lightly. so far no engine lights or warnings. and it seems to be running perfect at higher rpm and highway speeds. typically i experience this issue in the morning when i first start driving the car and keep in mind it had been strange weather here in KY all the way from 20 degrees to 65 in the last week or so.

I had mentioned in a previous post that i had thought this may be turbo lag but someone dismissed that theory. Any help would be appreciated.

Best Regards,

B

If you want to minimize cost of ownership, you should invest first in an OBD II adapter and software such as Forscan Lite/Torque Pro for your smartphone/tablet. This will give you monitoring and diagnostics capability, especially important for the Ecoboost engines as they are very heavily computer controlled.