Can nav be added to a 2022 Edge with Sync 4A?

I *think* the answer is no, but I thought I'd ask.

It's odd that Ford would not add a way for the dealer to upgrade an existing vehicle to navigation.  My Mazdas always had a provision for adding satellite radio and navigation to cars already equipped with the LCD display.

Second question - can a junk yard donor provide the equipment necessary?   A friend is looking at a 2022 Edge that doesn't have nav, but has a huge Tesla sized screen. 

2022 Edge display

Thanks for any input.

John

I'm not an expert on this but believe that it is possible to add NAV but it would need a new APIM and GPS antenna - this is what I did on my wife's 2015 Mustang.

I can PM you the contact for the person that sold me all the Ford hardware needed, all configured.

On my 2017 Edge Sport I no longer use the in dash NAV after getting a wireless Carplay device - Waze is all I use for navigation.

• Like 1

Ford released the following Special Service Message to dealerships on August 26, 2022...

SSM 51055   Adding/Removing Features Using Programmable Parameters Due To Vehicle Modifications

• Ford and Lincoln vehicle owners may request modifications to their vehicle such as enabling daytime running lamps (DRL), adding navigation, changing tire/axle sizes, and/or adding trailer brake control modules. 
  • A list of programmable parameters that are available for alteration is shown in Workshop Manual (WSM), Section 418-01A > Module Configuration. Parameters available for alteration will vary by model and model year. 
  • If the desired parameter is not listed in the right column of the Module Configuration and Parameter Chart, alteration of that parameter is not supported by Ford Motor Company. 
  • A list of supported parts that can be added to the vehicle is available at accessories.ford.com. Adding/removing accessories and/or programming vehicle features is not warrantable.