Jump to content

Custom Search

Welcome to the Ford Edge Forum


Sign In  Log in with Facebook

Create Account
Welcome to the Ford Edge Forum - the largest Ford Edge forum discussion board on the web. You must register to create new topics or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Benefits of membership:
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members
  • Create a photo album and post images. . .and more!
Click here to signup now
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

The official Ford authorized Ford Edge Registry is now live. More here!


Photo
- - - - -

Navigation Update


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bamabob

bamabob

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 6 posts
  • Region:U.S. Southern Atlantic
  • Location:Alabama
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 11 September 2017 - 05:39 PM

I need to update my maps, is this something the dealer has to do or can I do it?









Lose this advertisement by becoming a member. Click here to create a free account.


#2 OFFLINE   jmr061

jmr061

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 265 posts
  • Region:U.S. Great Lakes
  • Location:Upper Midwest
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 11 September 2017 - 05:43 PM

There are no map updates for SYNC3 yet.



#3 OFFLINE   enigma-2

enigma-2

    Ford Edge Fanatic

  • Edge Member
  • 2,327 posts
  • Region:U.S. Great Lakes
  • Location:Indiana
  • Edge's Year:2009

Posted 11 September 2017 - 06:23 PM

Can check here ever couple of months for when they finally get around to updating your maps. http://ford.navigati...n_US/FordNA/USD

#4 OFFLINE   bamabob

bamabob

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 6 posts
  • Region:U.S. Southern Atlantic
  • Location:Alabama
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 11 September 2017 - 06:52 PM

thanks, I went to the website and see that there is no update for my 2016 Edge, even though I drive on new roads that have been open for a couple of years now.

While on the website i was curious what an update would cost so i punched in an update for a 2012 Fusion.  Cost was $150!  For a map update?  I paid less than that for my Garmin with lifetime maps & traffic.  Not quite sure why I paid so much extra to have navigation in my edge.  When traveling to parts unknown I have to take my Garmin with the latest updates.

  :wub:  :wub:  :wub:



#5 OFFLINE   lildisco

lildisco

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 235 posts
  • Region:U.S. Great Lakes
  • Location:Clevelandish
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 11 September 2017 - 07:14 PM

It's nice to have to get you in the ballpark, but i primarily use Waze as the live traffic is much better than Sync. Google Maps is also a decent option

#6 OFFLINE   bamabob

bamabob

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 6 posts
  • Region:U.S. Southern Atlantic
  • Location:Alabama
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 11 September 2017 - 08:37 PM

too bad that after spending $795 for factory navigation that we still need to rely on other "free" or less costly devices for the latest & greatest.  I just looked up what I paid for my Garmin I purchased on Amazon back in 2015 and it was $99.  Now it dangles from my windshield when I travel to "parts unknown".

don't get me wrong, I love my Edge, wouldn't hesitate to buy another, but it sure seems that Ford could do a better job of supporting their software.  (and customers)


  • Augustus Maximus likes this

#7 OFFLINE   enigma-2

enigma-2

    Ford Edge Fanatic

  • Edge Member
  • 2,327 posts
  • Region:U.S. Great Lakes
  • Location:Indiana
  • Edge's Year:2009

Posted 11 September 2017 - 08:42 PM

Yup. $150 is the standard price for map update and Gracenotes.

Best map program I've used is Google Maps. (And it's free). Used it in Seattle couple of weeks ago, kept updating on traffic flow, accidents, etc.

Don't care for thd Garmin. Have a drawer with several used Garmins. Don't want another device hanging on my windshield if I don't need it. So nice having the big screen in the dash with a map tracking your progress.

I've found Here Maps (Ford/Lincoln) is usually a couple if years behind. You can go to there website and file an update for a particular road. I did this in the past and they updated one road in the next update and ignored one other. (Might be in the current. Not convinced to buy hus yet).

#8 OFFLINE   akirby

akirby

    Ford Edge Legal Resident

  • Moderator
  • 9,967 posts

Posted 11 September 2017 - 09:15 PM

too bad that after spending $795 for factory navigation that we still need to rely on other "free" or less costly devices for the latest & greatest.  I just looked up what I paid for my Garmin I purchased on Amazon back in 2015 and it was $99.  Now it dangles from my windshield when I travel to "parts unknown".
don't get me wrong, I love my Edge, wouldn't hesitate to buy another, but it sure seems that Ford could do a better job of supporting their software.  (and customers)


Not just Ford - almost all OEMs use the same map suppliers.

#9 OFFLINE   omar302

omar302

    Ford Edge Addict

  • Edge Platinum Member
  • 1,580 posts
  • Region:Middle East
  • Location:Qatar
  • Edge's Year:2011

Posted 11 September 2017 - 11:14 PM

too bad that after spending $795 for factory navigation that we still need to rely on other "free" or less costly devices for the latest & greatest.  I just looked up what I paid for my Garmin I purchased on Amazon back in 2015 and it was $99.  Now it dangles from my windshield when I travel to "parts unknown".

don't get me wrong, I love my Edge, wouldn't hesitate to buy another, but it sure seems that Ford could do a better job of supporting their software.  (and customers)

 

Why don't you use your phone? You can use Apple CarPlay or Android Auto & get your phone's maps on the Edge's display.



#10 OFFLINE   Quila

Quila

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 16 posts
  • Region:Canada British Columbia
  • Location:Vancouver
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 12 September 2017 - 10:16 AM

The maps on my Sync 3 are at least 3 years out of date in my area.  Android Auto usually crashes after about a half hour, so I can't rely on Google Maps or Waze for any trip that takes longer than that.  I can get AA working again by rebooting Sync 3 while driving or just turning the car off and on if I'm parked.  I have a portable Garmin GPS for when I really need navigation which fortunately is not very often.

 

I didn't actually want to buy navigation with the Edge, but it was bundled with the vista roof.  I wanted a sun roof, so I had to buy navigation.  I think most OEM maps in cars are a waste of money.



#11 OFFLINE   gtyates

gtyates

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 10 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:Tennessee
  • Edge's Year:2013

Posted 12 September 2017 - 11:11 AM

I have to agree that Ford's map updates are woefully behind! I have Sync 2 in my '13 Edge and I have an A7 SD card. The subdivision my brother lives in was started 4 years ago, and it is still not in the Ford map. I also ran into a road reconfiguration outside of Sevierville TN that was done a few years back and it is not in the Ford maps. I was aware of it, but it should have been in the system correctly. Why can Garmin update quarterly and be pretty darn accurate and Ford's vendor is YEARS behind..  While we are traveling we use the Ford system, and my wife will also have Waze running. I did contact the vendor and their only answer was that they only update as often as Ford tells them to. Still does not explain missing subdivisions... As to updates, I have purchased mine off of Ebay. So far so good. I know there are some knock-off copies that get listed on there occasionally, but the ones I have bought have been genuine Ford cards.



#12 OFFLINE   omar302

omar302

    Ford Edge Addict

  • Edge Platinum Member
  • 1,580 posts
  • Region:Middle East
  • Location:Qatar
  • Edge's Year:2011

Posted 12 September 2017 - 11:28 AM

@gtyates
A8 maps SD card has been available for sometime now. It might have significant updates from the A7 card.

http://ford.navigati...n_US/FordNA/USD

#13 OFFLINE   akirby

akirby

    Ford Edge Legal Resident

  • Moderator
  • 9,967 posts

Posted 12 September 2017 - 11:50 AM

I've found the OEM maps to be accurate at least 90% of the time unless you're in an area with a lot of new construction.



#14 OFFLINE   bamabob

bamabob

    New Edge Member

  • Edge Member
  • 6 posts
  • Region:U.S. Southern Atlantic
  • Location:Alabama
  • Edge's Year:2016

Posted 12 September 2017 - 06:27 PM

 

Why don't you use your phone? You can use Apple CarPlay or Android Auto & get your phone's maps on the Edge's display.

 

I guess I'm an old tech dinosaur.  I have a smart phone but it is a windows phone and it's also an ATT go phone which is like using a prepaid phone.  I currently have to have a land line in the remote area I live in to have internet and i cant afford both that and a cell phone bill.  so the only time we use the cell phone is when we travel and pay by the minute.

I really see no reason why Ford can't provide map updates at least annually.  But then again if they are going to charge $150 for them, #*%# it.  






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users