IA remote key fobs and push button start inconsistency

Ok, I admit I'm new to this remote start. I bought my 2012 Sport used and it has IA remote start fobs as well as push button start. The sales guy demonstrated the remote start by first locking the doors by pushing the lock button twice. Then pushing the 2x remote button twice and it worked both when he did it and then myself doing it. Easy, right. However at home this technique would not work. So I realize that it may need reset by putting foot on brake and then starting with the interior push button start and then shutting down to begin again. Still nothing. The service guy at ford called me and ask me to try it by pushing the fob lock button just one time and then 2x the remote start. It worked again.....however it occasionally doesn't and here is what I have experimented with. Not always but sometimes I have to lock once, then unlock and lock again and then it will remote start. There doesn't seem to be rhyme nor reason but certainly it does not seem to work one way all of the time and consistently. I have tried numerous times and one of methods above eventually works but I don't know why. Am I still missing something or could there be some oddity causing this? I also realize that the remote start will only work 2 times within an hour without resetting. Any suggestions appreciated.

Is the same issue happening with both fobs? Could that one of them has a weak battery.

Another thaught, are you sure the vehicles registers the "lock" command? I would suspect that it isn't abd hence the sequence would fail. Try for some time pressing the lock button twice (and hearing the horn chirp to confirm) then press the remote start button twice.